Poetry, Flash Fiction, Songs

Here is a song I wrote for my songwriting class. I got the idea for the song when I saw a listing of drinks and not because I spend a lot of time in bars!! Dan

Barroom Blues

I’d be a new man after the day’s first brew
Yeah, I’d be a new man after the day’s first brew
But then that new man would need a tall one too

Then the next new man and the one after him
Then that next new man and the one after him
And so on and so forth till the room would go dim

Each shot said keep drinkin that whiskey
And each shot said keep drinkin whiskey
I’m your magic man , your guitar-playin genie

But one night an angel kicked my ass
Yeah, one night an angel kicked my ass
She called me a damn fool, threw away my glass

So it’s adios to sparks in tequila
Yes it’s adios to sparks in tequila
I’m not drinking no more to forget Margarita

Goodbye to beer and au revoir to wine.
Yes it’s auf wiedersehen to beer and au revoir to wine.
But it’s kinda strange standing here without a glass or stein.

And it’s sayonara to lies from sake and vermouth.
Yes sayonara to lies from sake and vermouth.
Now I drink just water, I only chug crystal clear truth.

And I won’t miss the blackouts and regrets
No I sure won’t miss those blackouts and regrets
If I can stay off the sauce maybe I’ve got a chance yet.

Leave a Reply

